Marijuana has long been known for its medicinal uses, despite a lag in awareness and acknowledgment from the medical community. But now, not only does the medical community in Arizona recognize the useful properties of medical-grade marijuana for pain management, minimizing nausea, and increasing the appetite of patients suffering specific illnesses, but it also offers a streamlined registration process for citizens to obtain a medical marijuana license.
According to AZ Marijuana reports, the state sells almost 190,000 pounds of medical-grade marijuana every year since the passage of the Arizona legislature’s SB1494.
Arizona’s Department of Health Services has an easy portal process in place for obtaining a medical marijuana card. The printable card arrives through email when the process is complete. To apply for a card, patients must have a doctor’s referral and a qualifying medical condition such as:
Only adults over age 18 may apply for a medical marijuana card in Arizona. For those under age 18, a parent or guardian must register for a registered caregiver’s card to obtain medical marijuana for the underage patient if they have a qualifying condition and a referral from their physician. Parents and guardians don’t require medical experience to obtain a caregiver’s card but must be at least 21 years old, free of prior drug felonies, and have the following documents:
Obtaining a caregiver’s card requires a $350 fee to cover both the patient assessment and caregiver application fee. A Phoenix criminal defense lawyer can help navigate a pre-existing criminal history and how that may affect the application process.
Applying for a medical marijuana card in Arizona requires a $150 registration fee (SNAP users pay $75). Applicants must be residents of Arizona and may request an evaluation by a medical marijuana doctor, with or without their medical records. While medical records are helpful in expediting a referral, an assessing physician can also evaluate your condition as it presents at the time of your appointment separate from your medical history. You can set up an appointment for an assessment by phone or through the online portal.
Once an application for a medical marijuana card receives approval, you should receive your printable card within 10 business days. Once you’ve successfully registered and received approval, your card is good for two years before it requires renewal. The renewal process requires a second medical assessment but fees for a renewal are lower than the cost of the initial registration.
Arizona residents can obtain medical marijuana at any of the state’s licensed dispensaries and are allowed 2.5 ounces every 2 weeks. If the license holder doesn’t live within 25 miles of a dispensary, the state allows them to grow up to 12 plants in an enclosed building with a special grower’s license.