Being involved in any type of automobile accident can be incredibly scary. If you’re the one responsible for the accident, it’s understandable that you might think of leaving the scene to try to avoid liability, especially if you were driving recklessly. This is never a good idea, though, as it is a crime in and of itself to leave the scene of the accident. If you were arrested for recklessly driving and injuring someone else and/or leaving the scene of the accident, or you believe you may soon be arrested, it’s crucial to speak with a Glendale hit and run defense lawyer right away to determine your next steps. Contact The Stewart Law Group today to schedule a free consultation.
What is Vehicular Endangerment?
Vehicular endangerment occurs when an individual operates a vehicle recklessly, endangering another person with a substantial risk of imminent death or physical injury. To be convicted, the state must prove that you grossly disregarded the safety of others while operating your vehicle. This isn’t a charge that will be utilized for someone driving 80mph on the highway in a 65mph zone. It is often combined with DUI charges and used in incidents involving serious accidents or injuries due to driving behaviors that are considered a gross deviation from what a reasonable person in the same situation would undertake.
Vehicular endangerment is charged as a class 6 felony if there was a clear and direct threat to the life of the victim. If you’re a first-time offender, you could spend up to 2 years in prison and have your driver’s license revoked. Those with criminal histories will likely receive a much harsher sentence.
If there was no risk of imminent death to the victim, it will be charged as a class 1 misdemeanor. This carries up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. An experienced Glendale vehicular endangerment attorney that specializes in hit and run cases can help you clarify your charges.
Hit and Run Laws
In Glendale, Arizona, there are several variations of hit and run laws ranging from misdemeanors to felonies, depending on the circumstances. Some of the most commonly charged hit and run laws include the following:
Misdemeanor Leaving The Scene of an Accident
If you were in a car accident that caused damage to the other vehicle and failed to stop and remain at the scene of the accident, you could be charged with and convicted of a class 2 misdemeanor, which carries up to 4 months in jail.
Felony Hit and Run
If you were in an accident and the other party suffered serious physical injuries or death and you fail to stop and remain at the scene of accident, you can be convicted of and charged with a class 3 felony, which carries up to 7 years in prison
If you caused a car accident that causes serious physical injury or death to the other party and fail to remain at the scene, the charge can be increased to a class 2 felony, which is punishable by up to 10 years in prison
Contact The Stewart Law Group Today For Assistance
The vehicular endangerment and hit and run laws in Glendale, Arizona carry harsh consequences. We understand that any involvement with the criminal justice system can be an incredibly frightening and stressful situation, which is amplified when significant prison time is a possibility. At The Stewart Law Group, we know the impact that this can have on your life and will build a defense that provides you with the best chance of success. Contact us today to set up a free consultation to discuss your legal options. Our Glendale vehicular endangerment attorneys can help.